You are here: Home

Flint Hills Special Education Cooperative

Home Page of the FHSEC

Mission Statement

Empowering students to access their futures.

The Flint Hills Special Education Cooperative (FHSEC) serves thirty-eight schools across seven school districts in east central Kansas. The participating school districts are: USD 251, North Lyon County; USD 252, South Lyon County; USD 253, Emporia; USD 284, Chase County; USD 386, Madison; USD 390, Hamilton; and USD 417 Morris County.

The FHSEC provides an array of services for students from birth through 21 years of age. The majority of the students are served in inclusive settings in their neighborhood schools.

Students who qualify for special education services have one or more of the following exceptionalities: Autism; Deaf-Blindness; Deafness; Emotional Disturbance; Gifted; Hearing Impairment; Intellectual Disability; Multiple Disabilities; Orthopedic Impairment; Other Health Impairment; Specific Learning Disability; Speech or Language Impairment; Traumatic Brain Injury; and Visual Impairment.

2012 meets requirements banner